Many holiday destinations get green light after days of confusion – BBC News

Share the News

After several days of confusion, a list of around 60 countries that will be exempt from quarantine rules in England has finally been published by the government. The changes will come into effect on 10th July.

Spain, France, Germany and Italy are among the countries on the list, meaning visitors from England won’t have to self isolate when they arrive there, or return home.

But America, mainland Portugal and Brazil will still require travellers to quarantine for a fortnight on arrival and when returning home, due to their high coronavirus infection rates.

Scotland and Wales are yet to decide whether to ease their travel restrictions. Their leaders have described England’s changes as “shambolic”.

Quarantine regulations also remain in place in Northern Ireland for people arriving from outside the UK and the Republic of Ireland.

Clive Myrie presents BBC News at Ten reporting from Transport Correspondent Tom Burridge.

Please subscribe HERE